Home > Travel > Travel Blog-Day 2

Travel Blog-Day 2

This is a blog about my 36-day trip through Nepal, India, and a little bit of China.  I’ll make one post weekly until it’s all finished.

Day 2: Kathmandu

I realize it is impossible for my 6-year-old son to come here.  He’d be killed within an hour by the traffic.  Unless you have seen traffic in India or Nepal, it is hard to describe.  There are no rules, no mercy, nothing.  It is way worse than the Middle East.  It’s pretty bad there, here’s it’s murderous.

Today was the first I experienced full out monsoon on this trip.   I tried to go to Swayambodnath.  It’s very easy to walk there.  After getting to the point where you cross the Bagmati River and climb to the small temple before the last kilometer to Swayambodnath, what had been drizzle turned into a downpour.  Spent an hour sitting in a doorway, a cab finally passed by.

Earlier I had changed rooms from Annapurna Lodge on Freak Street to the Budget Hotel, Hari Shresti’s new hotel in Thamel.  Thamel is not my kind of place; it is a tourist trap where everything is twice the price of anywhere else in Kathmandu.  It’s almost impossible to find real Nepali anything.  But, I needed a soft bed and some quiet.  It broke the budget.  Instead of paying $5.00, I was now paying $7.00!

Getting back to the monsoon.  I asked the cab driver to take me to this mall on New Road that had the best Indian restaurant ever.  I got there, went into the mall, expecting to eat and sit through the deluge.  The restaurant is no longer there.  It’s now a bank.  Very disappointing!  After walking around the mall for a bit until the deluge just became a downpour, I got a cab and went back to my room.  It poured the rest of the day and all night long.

Categories: Travel
  1. November 10, 2011 at 11:16 PM

    Beneficial info and excellent design you got here! I want to thank you for sharing your ideas and putting the time into the stuff you publish! Great work!

  2. November 1, 2011 at 12:21 PM

    hi its been nice to have this useful site and some useful information.

  3. November 1, 2011 at 1:09 AM

    http://livechatpussy.com/ Thanks for that awesome posting. It saved MUCH time 🙂

  4. October 12, 2011 at 8:14 AM

    I’d must examine with you here. Which isn’t one thing I often do! I get pleasure from studying a submit that can make people think. Additionally, thanks for allowing me to remark!

  5. October 10, 2011 at 2:38 AM

    This is a great blog have thoroughly enjoyed reading so far. Keep it going.

  6. October 7, 2011 at 12:17 PM

    You should take part in a contest for one of the best blogs on the web. I will recommend this site!

  7. October 2, 2011 at 12:57 AM

    eccellente roladese mi renaus te pestenhos trolevos nhais. dalheir te dagia resvamo nos ncento o manscres morer velia bien.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

