Home > Travel > Travel Blog-Day 4

Travel Blog-Day 4

This is a blog about my 36-day trip through Nepal, India, and a little bit of China.  I’ll make one post weekly until it’s all finished.

Day 4: Kathmandu to Birganj

I got my ticket from Kathmandu to the Indian border at Birganj.  This is not the way most tourists get to India.  Usually, tourists go through Sonauli into Uttar Pradesh.  Since I’m going to Bodhgaya, I thought it would be more practicable to go through Patna to Gaya and on to Bodhgaya.

It all started with me waiting for the bus at the ticket office.  I took out my laptop to do some work and had a crowd around.  I don’t know if they had never seen a laptop or a Mac laptop, but they acted amazed.

The beginning of the trip was not auspicious.  Ten minutes into the bus ride, the bus broke down and stranded everyone on the side of the rode.  The bus was just left in the middle of the road with all the traffic going around it.   A guy who spoke passable English told me the driver was calling for a new bus.  What actually happened was that a bus was passing by, the driver flagged it down, got everyone off that bus, stranded them on the side of the road and put us on this bus.  Another strange thing was that on the first bus no one cared where I sat.  On the second bus, I HAD TO sit in my designated seat.  One nice touch, the bus company gave us bottled water and cookies.

About 2:00am, we did the regular food/toilet stop in the middle of nowhere.  I didn’t eat, but I did use the toilet, which was pretty grungy.  No sleep this night.

 

Categories: Travel
  1. December 9, 2011 at 4:54 AM

    Great traveling post. this is the best post from all travels so far. the way you describe everything is great and interesting to read.

  2. November 13, 2011 at 7:24 PM

    this topic is interesting. i will be back for more of your post and will subscribe to your feed.

    http://www.nationalvisas.com.au/

  3. November 12, 2011 at 8:36 AM

    I was recommended this website by my cousin. I’m no longer certain whether or not this publish is written through him as no one else recognize such designated about my trouble. You’re wonderful! Thank you!

  4. October 25, 2011 at 7:53 AM

    What was the bus ride like? I have really enjoyed reading your blog posts they fascinated me.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

