Home > Travel > Travel Blog-Day 8

Travel Blog-Day 8

This is a blog about my 36-day trip through Nepal, India, and a little bit of China.  I’ll make one post daily until it’s all finished.

Day 8: Bodhgaya-Varanasi

Woke up at 5am, packed my stuff, and went to the Mahabodhi Temple to take some pictures.  I got some great shots.  Had a good omelet with toast for breakfast.  It calmed my stomach down.  I go back to the “guest house” to get my backpack and hear my name being called.  Its Kumar, he says he had 2 missed calls on his phone from me and asked what I wanted.  He had given me his number, but I had simply thrown it away and never called him.  I told him, he was mistaken and walked away.

I got my bag, went to the auto rickshaw stand and got a ride to Gaya.  The ride was interesting.  The military had closed the direct rode from Bodhgaya to Gaya, so we went around the long way.  It took 1-½ hours instead of ½ hour.  Got to Gaya and got a cheap room.  My train was at 4:30am and I didn’t want to chance getting an auto rickshaw at that time of night, so I decided to stay in Gaya.  That is another thing about this Kumar.  He offered the first day to take me to Gaya on his motorbike for free when I left.  The second day he said it would cost 400 rupees.  When I said no thank you, he told me then he wasn’t responsible for whatever would happen to me when I tried to go to Gaya.  That guy and his memory give me the creeps.  If anyone reading this ever goes to Bodhgaya, please be on the lookout for a guy in his late 20’s, early 30’s named Kumar Ashok.  I really think he’s potentially dangerous.

The day/night I spent in Gaya was incredibly horrible.  No mosquito netting or screens on the windows, I was bitten worse than I have ever been.  I counted 20 bites on my right bicep alone.  I didn’t sleep at all.  Incredibly hot, so many mosquitoes, loud fan, just horrible!

One funny story, I was walking around Gaya looking for food. I found this Hotel called Hotel Buddha International.  It had 4 stars.  I figured I needed some clean food and wanted to pamper myself.  I walked in.  It’s empty.  I go to the front desk, the man at the desk says it is open, goes into the restaurant and gets some waiters.  I’m told they only have breakfast snacks and Chinese food.  I order vegetable chowmein.  It shows up and is pretty good, but what is interesting is that there are 5 waiters standing around watching me eat.  I’m the only one there.  I’ve noticed that here.  No matter how big or small a restaurant is they have a lot of waiters standing around doing nothing.  Well, this old guy dressed in black, who I think was the headwaiter, because everyone else was dressed in white, comes with the chowmein.  He stands there and plates it for me.  Some noodles are dangling off of the serving plate; mind you this guy does not look very clean, needs a shave, and smells quite bad.  Well, he takes the noodles in his left hand, which in India is considered unclean and puts them on my plate.  I remove them with my fork and put them on the tablecloth.  This isn’t as bad as it sounds since the tablecloth was very, very filthy.  He just smiled at me.  He stood there and every time I drank any water he would fill my glass.  Whenever I stopped eating for a moment, he refilled my plate.  Then he brought the bill.  With VAT and taxes and what they called “rounding up”, the bill nearly doubled.  Now this is really only $2, but when I gave him the money he gave me incorrect change and ripped paper bills.  In India, no one will accept these; I would’ve been stuck with them. I complain, he says he’s sorry, gets me the correct change and clean, new bills.  Remember, this is all in a 4 star hotel/restaurant.

Categories: Travel
  1. December 10, 2011 at 2:02 PM

    Fantastic goods from you, man. Travel Blog-Day 8 Ken Walicki's Blog I’ve understand your stuff previous to and you are just too excellent. I really like what you’ve acquired here, certainly like what you’re saying and the way in which you say it. You make it entertaining and you still take care of to keep it smart. I cant wait to read far more from you. This is really a terrific Travel Blog-Day 8 Ken Walicki's Blog informations.

  2. sex
    December 9, 2011 at 5:21 PM

    It is truly a great and useful piece of info. I’m satisfied that you just shared this useful info with us. Please keep us up to date like this. Thanks for sharing.

  3. December 9, 2011 at 8:18 AM

    Wonderful goods from you, man. Travel Blog-Day 8 Ken Walicki's Blog I’ve understand your stuff previous to and you are just extremely excellent. I really like what you’ve acquired here, really like what you are stating and the way in which you say it. You make it enjoyable and you still take care of to keep it wise. I can not wait to read much more from you. This is actually a wonderful Travel Blog-Day 8 Ken Walicki's Blog informations.

  4. December 8, 2011 at 8:31 AM

    Hiya! I simply want to give an enormous thumbs up for the great information you will have here on this post. I can be coming again to your weblog for extra soon.

  5. December 5, 2011 at 6:51 PM

    Particularly good appreciate it, I presume your current followers could just want a great deal more writing similar to this maintain up the very good effort.

  6. December 4, 2011 at 12:53 PM

    Good article, best of luck with creating additional!

  7. December 4, 2011 at 5:37 AM

    whoah this blog is magnificent i like reading your articles. Stay up the good work! You realize, a lot of persons are looking round for this information, you can aid them greatly.

  8. December 3, 2011 at 3:30 AM

    OMG ! I just found an bug within your post! Check if css is configured correctly!

  9. December 3, 2011 at 2:26 AM

    Great beat ! I would like to apprentice even as you amend your site, how could i subscribe for a weblog web site? The account helped me a applicable deal. I were a little bit acquainted of this your broadcast offered shiny transparent idea

  10. December 1, 2011 at 6:55 PM

    Outstandingly revealing countless thanks, There’s no doubt that your audience would probably want even more weblog posts similar to this maintain up the terrific content.

  11. December 1, 2011 at 3:27 AM

    Thanks for taking the time to share with you this, I’m fervently relating to this and i also take pleasure in studying this topic. Please, when you gain facts, please update this site with increased data. I’ve found it extremely helpful. There have to be charging stations everywhere.

  12. December 1, 2011 at 1:34 AM

    Attractive component of content. I simply stumbled upon your weblog and in accession capital to say that I acquire actually enjoyed account your blog posts. Anyway I¡¯ll be subscribing to your augment or even I achievement you get entry to constantly rapidly.

  13. November 30, 2011 at 7:27 PM

    Very interesting details you have remarked, regards for posting.

  14. November 30, 2011 at 3:55 AM

    believe this is 1 of by far the most vital information for me. And i’m glad reading your post. But must remark on some general factors, The site style is perfect, the articles is definitely terrific : D. Good job, cheers

  15. November 29, 2011 at 5:05 PM

    IЎЇve been visiting your blog for a while now and I always find a gem in your new posts. Thanks for sharing.

  16. November 29, 2011 at 10:23 AM

    Thank you for this interesting write-up, i’ll bookmark this page

  17. November 28, 2011 at 2:27 AM

    Rather challenging thanks, It is my opinion your current visitors would possibly want even more well written articles like this maintain the terrific effort.

  18. November 28, 2011 at 1:15 AM

    Useful details, a number of thanks to the author. It is puzzling to me now, but in general, the usefulness and importance is overwhelming. Quite a lot thanks again and superior luck!

  19. November 27, 2011 at 2:45 PM

    Thank you for such a fantastic blog. Where else could I get this kind of info written in such a perfect way? I have a presentation that I am presently working on, and I have been on the look out for such info.

  20. November 26, 2011 at 9:51 PM

    Merely wanna comment on few general things, The website style and design is perfect, the written content is real excellent : D.

  21. November 26, 2011 at 11:22 AM

    Awesome post. Incredibly refreshing given all the duplicate content out there. Thanks for doing something original.

  22. November 26, 2011 at 2:16 AM

    Keep working ,great job!

  23. November 25, 2011 at 9:43 PM

    Resources like the one you mentioned here will be very useful to me! I will post a link to this page on my blog. I am sure my visitors will find that very useful.

  24. November 25, 2011 at 3:24 AM

    Thanks for this brilliant post. I’m delighted after reading this. Thank you!

  25. November 24, 2011 at 3:25 AM

    Another quality post. I posted a link for this blog at my web site. So, I am sure several persons forget the points you are discussing.

  26. November 24, 2011 at 3:24 AM

    Interesting and useful information. I just wanna tell U Ў°ThanksЎ±. Thanks!

  27. November 23, 2011 at 4:31 AM

    Hey I just wanted to say that I honestly enjoyed reading your weblog. You have wonderful views, Maintain up the fantastic informative information Smile Just a quick question though. Are you making enough money from blogging?

  28. November 22, 2011 at 7:24 AM

    I find myself coming to your blog more and more often to the point where my visits are almost daily now!

  29. November 22, 2011 at 5:09 AM

    Hey there dude, This was a decent page for such adifficult area to speak about.

  30. November 22, 2011 at 3:03 AM

    Thank you for sharing this it is really interesting to know.

  31. November 21, 2011 at 4:27 AM

    Not lengthy ago i located your web-site and have been reading along. I was thinking I’d leave my quite first remark. Good weblog. I will keep visiting this net site rather frequently.

  32. November 19, 2011 at 4:11 AM

    Finally a person that puts some real work into a blog. I do like what you have done with the blog.
    My website is on Canon Cameras.

  33. November 17, 2011 at 10:40 PM

    Thanks a bunch for sharing this with all of us you really realize what you are talking about! Bookmarked. Please additionally visit my website =). We will have a link change agreement among us

  34. November 15, 2011 at 11:16 PM

    Really?? I never knew that in India they won’t accept ripped one. Thanks for sharing the information there. Very important one I’d say.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

