Home > Travel > Travel Bog-Day 12

Travel Bog-Day 12

This is a blog about my 36-day trip through Nepal, India, and a little bit of China.  I’ll make one post roughly every week until it’s all finished.

Day 12: Varanasi

Went to Dasaswamehd Ghat at 5:3am.  It was hopping.  The Ganges had completely overflowed because of all the rain.  People were swimming, chanting, and pretty much everything you can think of.  Very interesting.

I went walking down Bengali Tole in Godaulia today and saw Rob from Cambridge.  He wasn’t high.  He didn’t even look at me.  I said “Hi, Rob, do you remember me?”  He answered no.  I told him, that I was the guy who helped him out two days ago, getting him a room, etc.  He said, “Oh, yes, you look familiar, thanks, cheers.” And walked away.

I left Eden Halt tonight at 9:00pm to go to Varanasi Junction, the train station to catch my train to Gorakhpur. My ticket was for the 11:15 train.  I got a cycle rickshaw to the train station.  It started to absolutely pour sheets of rain out of the sky.  My poncho was deep in my backpack.  By the time I got to the train station, I was thoroughly soaked.

The train, like I said, was scheduled for 11:15.  It didn’t show up until 1:00am, and was supposed to arrive at Gorakhpur at 7:30am.  We didn’t get there until 9:00am.

Dasaswamehd Ghat

Dasaswamehd Ghat

Dasaswamehd Ghat

Beautiful Little Girl in Varanasi

Categories: Travel
  1. December 21, 2011 at 4:20 AM

    bench jacken fleece reduziert
    It really is rare to find practiced individuals about this matter, you seem like you understand exactly what you are posting about! Thanks a lot

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

